For the best VisitTallinn web experience please use Google Chrome.


Close
TODAY 2..6
TOMORROW 1..6
DAY AFTER TOMORROW 2..6
 

Photo by: Paul Kuimet

Photo by: Paul Kuimet

Photo by: Paul Kuimet

Photo by: Paul Kuimet

Photo by: Paul Kuimet

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

4.5

based on 899 reviews

Location (map)

Toom-Kooli tn 6, Tallinn

Old Town

Open/ Available

01.01-30.03; 01.11-31.12 Tue-Sun 10-16; Sat-Sun 9-16
01.04-30.04 Tue-Fri 10-17; Sat-Sun 9-17
01.05-31.05; 01.09-30.09 Mon-Sun 9-17
01.06-31.08 Mon-Sun 9-18
01.10-31.10 Tue-Sun 9-16

Fees

Ticket from 2.00€

Contact

tallinna.toom@eelk.ee

+372 644 4140

Information

More

Accessibility

No accessibility
  • accessibility is restricted
  • object is located on the second or higher floor, only steps for access
  • more than one person's help is needed for accessibility
3
Steps
  • number of steps above the symbol

Cathedral of Saint Mary the Virgin (Dome Church)

Add to Favourites Your favourite!

The medieval church that stands at the centre of Toompea hill is one of the country's most fascinating historic attractions.

Established sometime before 1233 and repeatedly rebuilt since, the church displays a mix of architectural styles. Its vaulted main body dates to the 14th century, while its Baroque tower was an addition from the late 1770s.

Historically this was the church of Estonia's elite German nobles, a fact that becomes clear once you step through the doors. The interior is filled with elaborate funereal coats of arms from the 17th to the 20th centuries as well as burial stones from the 13th to the 18th centuries. Among the notables buried here are Pontus de la Gardie, who commanded Swedish forces during the Great Northern War, Adam Johann von Krusenstern, the Baltic-German admiral who led Russia's first expedition around the world, and Scottish-born Admiral Samuel Greig of Fife, rumoured to be Catherine the Great's lover.

Christian Ackermann, one of the most skilful and renowned woodcarvers in 17th - 18th century, made the pulpit (1686) and the altar (1694-1696).

Just inside the main entrance you'll find a large stone slab which reads, "Otto Johann Thuve, landlord of Edise, Vääna and Koonu Ehis grave, 1696 A.D." Thuve, now sometimes referred to as "Tallinn's Don Juan", was an incurable drinker and womaniser. As he lay dying, he asked to be buried here at the threshold of the church so that God-fearing people, as they kneel to pray upon entering, might eventually cleanse his soul.

In addition to seeing the church's amazing interior, visitors can opt to climb the 69-metre, Baroque bell- tower for amazing views of the city.

Mass every Sunday at 11am, midweek prayer with organ on Wednesdays at 5pm (free entrance), organ recital on Saturdays at 12pm (donation required).

Entrance to both the church and the tower is restricted at the time of worship services and concerts.

Location (map)

Toom-Kooli tn 6, Tallinn

Old Town

Open/ Available

01.01-30.03; 01.11-31.12 Tue-Sun 10-16; Sat-Sun 9-16
01.04-30.04 Tue-Fri 10-17; Sat-Sun 9-17
01.05-31.05; 01.09-30.09 Mon-Sun 9-17
01.06-31.08 Mon-Sun 9-18
01.10-31.10 Tue-Sun 9-16

Fees

Ticket from 2.00€

Contact

tallinna.toom@eelk.ee

+372 644 4140

Information

More

Accessibility

No accessibility
  • accessibility is restricted
  • object is located on the second or higher floor, only steps for access
  • more than one person's help is needed for accessibility
3
Steps
  • number of steps above the symbol
TripAdvisor® Traveler Reviews

"Loved it! Well worth a visit!"

4.5

November 7, 2019, by lcb5310

It was established by the Danes in the 13th century and is the oldest church in Tallinn as well as mainland Estonia. It was the only building in the upper town that survived a 17th century fire. Its... Read more

"Fascinating interior"

4.5

November 6, 2019, by DerAlteBach

St. Marys Cathedral (now affiliated with the Estonian Evangelical Lutheran Church) is well worth visiting. The panoply of aristocratic coats of arms decorating the walls of this church reflects... Read more

"Unusual church in upper Tallinn with Coats of Arms and a viewing tower"

4.5

November 2, 2019, by David E

This church is known as St Marys Cathedral, but locally the full name is Neitsi Maarja Piiskoplik Toomkirik, and is located close to the Alexander Nevsky Cathedral. This church looks a little plain... Read more

Events
Filters:
See & Do
Eat & Drink
Plan
Tallinn Card
Venues
Areas
Accessibility
Clear filters

Click on the map to use it

You might also like